April 12, 2006







  • SIXTIETH BIRTHDAY DINNER




                            If in the men’s room of our favorite restaurant
                            while blissfully pissing riserva spumante
                            I punch the wall because I am so old,
                            I promise not to punch too carelessly.

                            Our friend Franco cooks all night and day
                            to transform blood and bones to osso bucco.
                            He shouldn’t have to clean them off his wall
                            or worry that a customer gone cuckoo

                            has mushed his knuckles like a slugger
                            whose steroid dosage needs a little tweaking.
                            My life with you has been beyond beyond
                            and there’s nothing beyond it I’m seeking.
       
                            I just don’t want to leave it, and I am
                            with every silken bite of tiramisu.
                            I wouldn’t mind being dead
                            if I could still be with you.

                                                                   
                                                                           -Michael Ryan



     


     


     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *